Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local business are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities.

The supermarket systems have witnessed a significant growth in several countries; therefore, some believe it would lead to the end of the local communities as well as their business. In my opinion, it is true that the appearance of multi-purpose shopping centres will bring about the disappearance of small enterprises and surrounding residents. First of all, the expansion of big malls has narrowed the total incomes of the local business as a whole. In order words, having no relative economic of scale advantages, many small stores find it hard to compete in terms of prices and product diversification with the supermarkets. As a result, their total incomes will decrease dramatically, and some might face the threat of bankruptcy. Another reason why the existence of the local communities might run to an end is that they do not bring various shopping experience to the customers. Generally, each particular local shop only serves specific type of products, such as groceries or meat. Therefore, in order to complete the necessary items in the shopping list, shoppers have to spend time travelling to different places. Thus, this leads to reluctant shopping behaviour towards the local business. Finally, the death of local communities might cause by not having enough crucial work force. In fact, one supermarket has created way more job positions with different shifts than one small local business can do. As a result, it has attracted the attention of potential, which may eventually cause the permanent closure of such business. In conclusion, while supermarket expansion has brought dramatical change for the local, I am convinced that it will definitely threaten the existence of local communities due to loss of income, labour workforce and economic advantages