Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local business are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities.

It is often argued that the rapid expansion of supermarkets badly effects on the growth of small scale local business and indirectly increasing the poverty of the local community. In my opinion I strongly believe that there is a decline in the profit of local enterprises as wealthy customers use to fulfil their daily needs from supermarkets and at the end they will be closed to the poor local community as well. The problem that, accompanied by the closure of grocery shops is that families with low income finds it difficult to fulfil their daily food needs. Firstly the people have to travel far for supermarkets. Secondly, the goods are not affordable for a low class family. One of the main reasons for the declination of the quality of life due to the closure of small business is the travelling issue. An extra cost have to be incurred to travel as everyone doesn’t have own vehicles. At the same time journey to the cities take time due to the huge traffic and this interrupts daily activities of self-employers. This issue should be taken into consideration to uplift the lives of the local community. Another major problem faced is the goods in city markets are not being affordable for many customers. Since the goods are kept in air-conditioned chambers under a good hygienic conditions the cost incurred on them is high and the selling prices will be greater than those in small boutiques which is an issue with no solution. As a result, people try to reduce the consumption of essentials like food, sanitary products, medicine and etc. Which paves the way to poor performance in industries and education. In conclusion, we can say that closure of small business interrupts the socioeconomic stability of an area and necessary steps must be taken to encourage self-employment, small scale productions, markets and etc. So that the all the requirements can be fulfilled within that area itself.