Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local business are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, chain stores are built in rapid speed and are dominating the market, this leads to the closure of the majority of small local shops. And certain people argue that this will lead to the extinction and nonexistence of local communities. I agree to some extent with this view because while super stores are creating job opportunities to the community as it would be otherwise obsolete, they are hindering and creating obstacles for local farmers to market their products. The rapid growth of supermarkets has led to a higher employment rate. For instance, Spinneys, a huge mega store in Lebanon currently employs around 5000 people in all of its branches all over Lebanon. This ensures the revival of local communities, as a large percentage of the youth would have migrated to the city searching for job opportunities. Another reason, why the development of these chain stores has a positive effect on the nation is the economic boost it provides. For example, the construction of big supermarkets in rural areas such as Carrefour that was built near South of the border have created traffic in terms of financial gains because as customers in surrounding areas gravitated toward this store, they in turn explored the town and purchased traditional items available at these local shops. This supports the idea that the expansion of supermarkets is a positive outcome. However, a downside to the rapid growth of these large chains, is that it creates roadblocks for farmers from being able to sell their produce they were previously able to sell them to small shops and were able to provide the quota needed. Though, this is no longer the case as these local farmers cannot replenish these big stores at the rapid pace that is needed. In conclusion, from my point of view the advantages of the existence of super stores far exceeds its disadvantages. However, steps must be taken to support local shops by creating other opportunities to sustain their businesses.