Cultures all around world have become more similar than they used to be. What are reasons for this? Do you think it is a positive or negative?

Nowadays, in comparison to decades ago, modern art, music and literature are likely to look alike throughout the globe. This essay will discuss further the reasons and my personal opinion of this behaviour. There are 2 main reasons that play a huge part in cultural resemblance, which are technology and immigration. Firstly, advanced technology such as the internet, has brought the world closer than ever. Online platforms like Twitter, Facebook or YouTube, has allowed people of different backgrounds to introduce their cultures for other people to learn. Moreover, the increase in migration allows society to learn varieties of cultures from the immigrants. Society are now likely to immigrate to other countries to learn about their history and to introduce their backgrounds to them. Therefore, the advancement of technology and migration have allowed cultural resemblance to increase around the world. According to ‘The Economist’ magazine, the rise in cultures resemblance has brought negativity towards worldwide countries. This is because people can easily copy traditional arts and make money out of it. For instance, when India introduced their ‘Sari’ outfit, the westerners copied their top clothes, which is now called crop-top, and sold millions of that type of clothing styles, without crediting the ‘Sari’ outfit. Hence, in my opinion, cultural similarity brings a negative impact, as it mostly disadvantages the traditional countries. In conclusion, although the internet and immigration have caused the increase in cultural similarity, it generally causes difficulties to the origin countries. In my opinion, I believe that society should not copy the cultures, as it should be distinct and unique.