Some people believe government should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is the better way to reduce traffic congestion.

An increasing number of vehicles lead to traffic congestion, which is faced by the most of the people. People have different solutions to alleviate this issue. Some think that the best way is to build and improve railways, while others believe that, making roads wider is only the solution to this problem. So, from both of these, for which the government should spend money, is the debatable issue. This essay discusses both views and arrives at its own view at the end. On the one hand, it is the fact that trains are bigger than any other road transportation vehicles. Therefore, it facilitates a thousand of people at a time, which eventually, reduces the use of private auto-mobiles on roads and makes the traffic less stressful. For example, it is surveyed that, Mumbai local trains are facilitating more than a billion locals everyday, to commute across the city. Additionally, railway systems and subway lines are mostly on the outskirts of the city, which makes the inner road congestion-free. On the other hand, constructing wider roads is considered as the effective solution by many. As, it is commonly seen that most locals use roads, bigger roads certainly provide them flexibility to drive safely. However, making roads wider demands more lands and the scarcity of the land cannot be overlooked. More roads without space, makes the situation more worse than good. To conclude, according to me, the government should spend money in creating new railway and subway tracks, as it serves more people. Although, it is the responsibility of the government to understand the necessities of citizens and use sources and the funds effectively according to that.