Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of the society. Others however, believe that the school is the place to learn this.

In the world today, the importance of learning good character early in life cannot be overemphasized. Although some individuals are of the opinion that this should be taught in schools, I believe that it is the role of the parents to guide their offspring on how to be upright members of the society. Firstly, children spend most of their time with their parents which is an opportunity for them to instill good manners in these children. A child tends to act and behave according to what is seen or heard often. For example, a young one whose parents use words like “please” and “ thank you” often learns the importance of courtesy early in life. Also, some children don’t start school early or don’t even get to go to school at all, if being honorable members of the society is left to be taught in schools, then these children won’t have the opportunity to learn. Meanwhile, people who believe that etiquette should be taught in schools argue that once a child goes to school, they are exposed to a wider community and therefore needs the influence of their teachers and peers to contribute positively to the society. For instance, it is compulsory in some schools to participate in unpaid community work which helps to reinforce good manners. In conclusion, it is important for parents to teach their children how to be responsible and good members of the society as it is said that charity begins at home and these should also be reinforced in schools by teachers and peers.