Some say that music, art and drama are as important as other school subjects, especially at the primary level.

Some people think that different forms of arts should be treated as importantly as other subjects at school. This essay agrees that concentration on arts is important for the overall development of a child because it gives them an outlet to express themselves, and secondly it makes a viable career option in the future as well. To begin with, learning some form of art enables children to share their feelings with other people. Often young kids find it difficult to communicate with their parents and other adults, due of which they tend become introverts and find it hard to share their feelings. Infusing their thoughts into any form of art gives them a platform to express their views, and at the same time help in reducing their anxiety and stress. For example, many famous songwriters stated that writing their feelings in lyrics helped them recover from any bad memories. Not many students can learn traditional subjects such as math, science and other languages. For these children, learning some form of art can prove to be very beneficial and make a viable career out of it. For example, David lynch, a famous actor, could not complete primary school and in spite of that achieved great success in his film career. In conclusion, painting, dancing and acting should be given equal importance in primary schools because it helps the children in communicating with adults, and also become a viable career option for them. It is recommended that all schools make these subjects mandatory, since it will assist in the overall development of an individual.