Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarket in some countries, many small, local business are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities.

Advancement is a requirement, but at the same time regional societies are also a crucial part of a human being's life, because we humans are social animals. It is often argued by many that, because of the accelerated buildup of huge markets in various nations, local ventures are not able to stand out in front of these big businesses. In my perspective, I completely agree with the statement that, it will kill the regional businesses and leave many without earnings if it continues to grow at a higher rate. First of all, I believe that the superstores sell most of the items at higher costs. By cause of the high prices there are many people who are not able to afford to buy these pricey things. To demonstrate, the bigger grocery stores like Metro and Loblaws sell the groceries at higher prices as compared to the market prices at which they purchase the groceries from manufacturers, to earn their profit and to pay the bills as well. Consequently, it will be more difficult for the poor individuals purchasing anything from these big stores if the local shops will die out because of them. Secondly, these shopping complexes are usually built in the middle of the big cities, far away from the countryside areas, which makes it problematic for the people residing in the villages to travel that far just to buy fewer things. Moreover, there is a population in some countries who do not have any means of transportation to travel to the cities to buy the items which are necessary for them. To put it another way, in a big country like India, where half of the population resides in rural regions, people prefer to purchase basic necessities like groceries or milk from local shopkeepers instead of travelling to the cities. As a result, if these regional markets will be closed, what would these people will do in future? To conclude, bigger complexes are essential for the growth of the economies, but at the same time locals are necessary for the local communities to able to get easy access to the items of daily need without any worries or hustling towards the cities situated far-far away.