Due to television and the internet it is easier today for a large number of people to become famous. Is this a positive or negative development?

In the modern world, it is possible for a person to gain popularity overnight, due to availability of television and an online media. This situation has some benefits, but it also has some strong negative effects, which I believe are more serious than the positive ones. On the one side, there are some benefits of getting famous on television and the internet. Firstly, it aids people to earn a huge wealth. That is to say, a majority of youtubers are making millions of US dollars yearly because their followers like watching and sharing their videos and for every view, they are making money. Secondly, it helps them to make international followers. In other words, famous celebrities have huge fan following, not only from their own country, but people from all over the world offers them love and support. For instance, Amitabh Bachan, an Indian Bollowood Actor, has hundreds of followers sitting in every country, resulting in his global publicity. On the other hand, being famous on TV and the online media can have severe negative impacts. Because the internet and TV are accessible to everyone and if media posts the personal information of TV Celebrities, it can spread very quickly, resulting in people lose their privacy. To exemplify, according to the Times of New York, Justin Bieber does not like media interviews because he believes media is making money by showcasing the personal life of celebrities. Furthermore, sarcastic people sometimes hurt the TV stars on their wrong actions, which further leads to violence in the society, followed by mini wars. To conclude, although the internet and television can bring a fortune for people by offering them a huge wealth and the followers. However, I believe the negative effects such as privacy loss and violence in the society are far more important to consider.