Doing an enjoyable activity with a child can develop better skills and more creativity than reading. Use reasons and specific examples to explain your answer. v. 279

According to some people, it is believed that children develop their creativity and other skills by doing fun activities with their parents, rather than reading books. I strongly agree with this approach as children learn their motor and cognitive skills only through play, especially when they are in pre-school age. Firstly, while primary school children could be inclined to read, younger children in pre-school cannot not concentrate for a period of time as their attention span in very less when compared to that of adults. As a result, it would be nearly impossible for parents to inculcate the habit of reading. For example, as per a 2013 Cambridge University research, 90% of the children in pre-school age were interested in playing with colourful toys and shapes, rather than looking at the pictures in books. This clearly explains why children are more eager to pretend and play, whereas less interested in spending time with the books. Secondly, play allows youngsters to mature emotionally, and gain self-confidence. There is no scientific research which suggests reading at a young age is essential for a child’s development, moreover, evidence suggests the reverse is true. In Finland, early years’ education focuses on playing. Reading is only encouraged if a child shows and interest in developing this skill. This self-directed approach certainly does not result in Finnish school leavers falling behind their foreign counterparts. In fact, Finland was ranked the sixth best in the world in terms of reading. In conclusion, despite being a supporter of the above mentioned non-reading approach, I strongly recommend incorporating bedtime stories into a child’s daily routine. However, reading as a regular daytime activity should be swapped for something which allows the child to develop other skills.