Doing an enjoyable activity with a child can develop better skills and more creativity than reading. To what extent do you agree? Use reasons and specific examples to explain your answer. v. 272

It is undeniable that we live in an industrious world where natural resources are intensively consumed. There is a growing notion that government should encourage people to limit purchasing new products. I strongly disagree with this idea because it compromises not only product safety but also its affordability. This assay will discuss these two reasons, highlighting two products as examples. Firstly, if people were dissuaded from buying more up-to-date items, companies wouldn't invest in optimizing their products' safety. Take for example the car industry, technologies such as ABS brakes, seat belts and air-bags were developed as a consequence of a constant demand for improving car safety coupled witha huge desire from customers to buy the latest car models. Therefore, the private sector should be always encouraged to improve the safety of its products by the growth of its sales rates. Secondly, for companies to develop long-lasting products, more expensive raw materials should be used. This will undoubtedly increase products' prices which will in turn make them impossible for poorer consumers to afford. For instance, the widespread use of cellphones can be related to the affordability of buying them despite the fact that more than 90% of cellphones should be replaced within three to five years after the first use. Increasing the cost of having a cellphone, justified by improving its lifetime, will deprive a great section of the world population from using such indispensable technology. In conclusion, it is conclusively clear that if the private sector was allowed to discourage consumption, it would harm product improvements and ultimately its safety. Meddling with product durability will most likely harm the poor. As a result, I unquestionably oppose this idea.