Doctor assisted suicide should be legal or banned?

Suicide is the 8th leading cause of death. One of the main factors is linked to a terminal disease. At least 400 hundred people with a terminal disease commit suicide every year. People who are diagnosed with a terminal disease are not able to treat or make any sort of improvement to get better. In order to end the suffering, doctors came up with the solution called 'doctor assisted suicide'. Doctor assisted suicide is the act of killing yourself with the aid of doctors. It is very controversial whether it should be legalized or not. The following essay will illustrate why it should be legalized. To begin, everyone has right to die. If we are in a severe medical condition that is unbearable, the options should be given. We can only look forward to lives filled with yet more suffering, degradation and deterioration. When such people beg for a merciful end to their pain and indignity, it is cruel and inhumane to refuse their pleas. According to the research, for the patients, the care and medical bill they require to stay alive provides a pressure and burden on them as well as their family. Drugs for assisted suicide are far less expensive than the cost of medical care. No matter what the process is, the outcome is the same. So it helps to lessen the cost. On the other hand, the opponents claim that most people do not go through this process, even if it is legalized. About 1 in 6 agree to undergo the procedure. The rest of them prefer to live as long as they can. Also, people believe that doctor assisted suicide encourages the desire for death. It could lead to people giving up on treatment and losing good years of their lives. But it only allows for those people with terminal disease and who have six or less months to live. To conclude, the options should be given to the patients who are suffering from terminal disease.