Do you think that technological advancement has brought more harm than good. Use specific reasons and details to support your opinion. It is undeniable fact that technologies have been developing day by day and it has changed the society and lifestyles of

Traditionally, people who attained the age of retirement would simply leave their place of work for a life full of leisure. Increasingly around the world, it has been observed that more and more retirees have made the decision to continue working, for example, taking on freelance or consultancy positions. The reasons for this are many fold, which I will explain below. Based on my observations of this trend, I am emphatically in favour of retirees working, as this brings benefits not only to the retiree but also to the community at large. One key benefit generated by retirees continuing to work is that the store of knowledge possessed by the retiree is not lost. Having spent many years honing their craft, it would be a waste to lose those skill sets of the older generation when they attain the age of retirement. I have observed many companies engaging their former employees after they attain the age of retirement in contract consultancy positions to ensure these valuable members of the organisation are available to coach the younger generation and provide continuity of knowledge. Another benefit is that the retiree will still enjoy a source of income, which would be helpful in defraying high living expenses. Inflation rates around the world are high at present, and lead to rising costs of living. Some retirees I know, who chose not to work and rely on their savings are constantly stressed trying to make ends meet. They must forego luxuries that they could afford when they were working, simply because they no longer have the means to spend on them, as inflation eats into the purchasing power of their savings. For retirees who found pleasure in their work in the past, working past pullout age would be an enjoyable task. I have observed some retirees who used to thrive in the previous careers and who previously enjoyed the thrill and excitement of their work, find themselves utterly bored when they no longer work. Indeed, I have observed that older people who do not keep their minds active might even suffer from health ailments such as dementia. Having considered the points above, I believe that people choose to work after the age of retirement as they can still contribute their skills, earn a decent income, and find it an enjoyable activity that may even benefit their health. Due to these advantages, I am firmly in favour of the older generation choosing to work after their evacuation.