Do you think that modern technology, such as the internet and computers will ever replace the book or the written word as the main source of information?

It is certainly true that these days, as technology advances, we are definitely drifting further towards the internet for our research needs. But I think that computer technology will never ever be a replacement of books and written information because they are the main tools used for our reference purposes and education. It is true that as technology advances and the net becomes more and more efficient; it is gaining a reputation for being the first and sometimes the only source to go when we need to search a subject. However, as the web has a large base of information, locating exactly what we need is sometimes quite a trying task. In some instances, we find that it probably would have been easier to have gone to the library and used a book. Another problem we are faced with while searching online is whether or not the information is correct. We sometimes can be deceived by information on a website and be unaware that what we are writing down is incorrect. So books will never ever be replaced even if there are lots of people using the cyberspace. This is due to the fact that books are the main tool of education and are commonly used for our leisure time. In fact, books have been with us for many thousands of years and usually used for our enjoyment purposes. For instance, reading stories in books is an ancient pastime, and although the variety of activities can undertake in our spare time has increased dramatically over the years, it is still quite common to read books. Of course, they are not only used for our pastimes, but for our studies too. They play a major part in our primary, secondary and in tertiary education. In conclusion, I think that as computer age takes over, we may use books less, especially for information purposes. However, books as we know them will not disappear; they will never ever be replaced by the information in the screen because they are used in our leisure time and the main tool for our education.