Do you think that modern technology, such as the internet and computers will ever replace the book or the written word as the main source of information?

It is true that information technology has grown rapidly in the past few years, and many people predict that it will develop faster in the future. Some people believe that print out books and articles will be replaced by computer devices in the future. To a certain extent, I would agree that the number of printed books will decrease significantly in the future, but I do believe that hardcopy books will continue to exist in the future. On one hand, it is a fact that with the existence of the computer and the internet technology, people can obtain a lot of information. People would just open the device, connect it to a network and they could search all articles that they need. There are tens of thousands of websites which provide valuable information such as www. national geographic. com or www. discovery. com. Besides that, many news corporations also provide electronic newspapers these days like CNN or BBC, which can be read in the notebook, tab or smartphone. As a result, many people prefer to read the information from the electronic devices rather than to purchase the print out one. On the other hand, it is predicted that print out books, newspapers or magazines will continue to exist in future, though the number will decrease drastically. Firstly, not everyone likes to read an article through the gadget directly, since they think it is uncomfortable. They believe that the radiation of computer screen would cause eyes irritation, and give a negative effect on their eyes' health. Secondly, it is undeniable that the development of internet technology is not equally spread all over the world. The online services would only be available in advance countries and in some major cities of developing and poor countries. As a consequence, people who live in the rural or remote areas will still need the print out version. In conclusion, although it is true that the number of electronic books and news has increased considerably in the recent years, but the existence of the hardcopy version will be irreplaceable. As some people do not feel comfortable in reading an article directly from the computer screen, and others who live in the countryside might not have the access to the technology.