Do you think that modern technology, such as the internet and computers will ever replace the book or the written word as the main source of information?

The developments in computers and the internet have created an impeccable impact on electronic content people produce and consume. The interesting question to address is the capability of digital content to replace the physical books. I strongly believe that technology advancements in web and computers have good chances of replacing written text as the primary source of knowledge leading to better individual and social benefits. Firstly, accessibility to knowledge is the main advantage of digital content. For example, any challenged individual has access to electronic content easily in the form of the digital music player like iPod listening to podcasts. In addition, there has been a recent development in the mobile phones with multiple language supports that in combination with the social networking sites like Facebook facilitates the generation of online content in their native languages. Language developments have improved since the invention of speech to text converter software that converts the person's voice into text. Additionally, several people have taken blogging as a hobby that generates a huge amount of electronic content for others to consume. Secondly, there has been a change in the teaching methodology giving more importance to the electronic assignments and online lectures. During olden days, students have to attend classroom lectures to understand the subject area but now several university lectures are given online and available to students throughout the day. Buying a physical story book or education related books are becoming outdated, as everyone prefers to buy an electronic version of the book and load it on their e-book readers or tablet computers. In conclusion, based on the individual and social benefits created by the digital content and internet, I strongly believe that electronic content with World Wide Web will replace physical books as the primary source of knowledge.