Do you think that modern technology, such as the internet and computers will ever replace the book or the written word as the main source of information?

From many years, people have been preserving information in written form whether it was written in leather with the help of quill or on paper. But with the modernization and innovation, people are more engaged in getting information from internet and computer. Therefore, with the access of internet and technology, there is always a treat of replacing the book or the written words. I also believe that use of technology will someday replace the written words. Firstly, human beings can adapt to changes. In ancient time people used to write on walls and create murals for information then they gradually adopted with writing on leather and then on paper. Nowadays, nobody writes on leathers and walls for daily purpose. Like this, if everyone has access to the internet and computer then the trend of writing information on books and paper will also slowly vanish. Secondly, people are more concerned about saving the environment and using paper means cutting trees. Therefore, for preserving environment people are using less paper and printed materials and more relies on soft copies such as word document and computer software which gives them opportunities to correct and re-correct their works without using papers. Besides saving papers, technologies are also cost effective. Thirdly, individuals, organisations and companies are preparing reports in the computer and emails are used instead of paper mail. So the use of papers and written words have drastically decreased in last few decades. Similarly, people have also access to tablets, kindles, handy computer and laptop due to which magazine, novel, books and newspapers are now uploaded in electronic form. In short, if we see the trends then the use of books has dramatically decreased and if it continues, one day the modern technology will certainly replace the book or the written words.