Do you think punishment should be used to teach children wrong or right actions?

Human behaviours in any society can either be said to be right or wrong. Human beings learn how to behave through different means, one of which is punishment. It is important to note that human behaviours are better learnt at an early age because behaviours become habits. Needed to state that habits are not easily changed. This is the reason why young humans – children- need to learn the distinctions between right and wrong at an early age. One of the most effective ways of teaching children is by punishing them. I will be discussing the importance of punishment in teaching children the difference between right and wrong. Human beings are self-protective and are likely to run away from anything that inflicts pain or bodily injury. Punishment is a way of inflicting pain because it is usually carried out by the use of painful objects like cane. Since pain is naturally alien to human beings, children are likely to avoid it and that could deter them from doing the wrong thing. For example, at grade ii my mother inflicted pain on me through her bare hands when I ate meat from the pot. On another occasion, i left the house chore undone and this caused me my dinner. I woke up severally during the midnight because i skipped dinner. I therefore resolved to always listen to her to avoid going through the pain of doing otherwise. Human beings are naturally afraid of any form of deprivation. Deprivation can be an effective way of punishing children at an early age to teach them the difference between right and wrong. For example, I was left at home to be alone at an instance when I fought with one of my siblings. My two younger siblings were taken to the beach to have fun while I was asked to stay at home. They came back narrating their experience and I felt deprived. This made me to abstain from fighting for many years thereafter. In conclusion, it is important to use punishment to teach children the importance of doing right and wrong actions because it shows seriousness on the part of the parent or guardian. Quite impressively, the society where we belong also uses punitive measures to deter citizens from doing wrong actions.