Do you think having a pet is a good idea or not?

Pets are considered as  human beings friends and have been playing an important role in their owners' daily lives since the beginning. Whether owning a pet is the right decision or not, I personally believe,  depends on individual's personal conditions. The essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of having a pet. To begin with, owning a suitable and lovely pet will be a great decision to its owner. Firstly, it not only provides emotional comfort to its owner but also helps its owner stay healthy physically and mentally. Pets are excellent companions for the elderly who live alone.  Secondly, having pets for children will help them to nurture positive personal characters, such as responsibility, sympathy,  and so on. Last but not the least, pets also protect owners and their properties. Dogs for the blind not only will lead their owners' ways, but also protect them from traffic accidents. However, keeping a pet is expensive and will bring financial burden to owners because owners will spend money on their pets' food, medical cover and insurance.  Sometime, pets will cause allergic reactions to their owners or carry parasites and transmit them to their owners as well. For example, dog fur is a trigger for some peoples' asthma. In conclusion, I would say that petting an animal is not merely advantageous for people for above reasons but rather is a noble method to save animals by providing them shelters and food. However, sometimes they cause threats to the owner by causing physical attacks, triggering allergic diseases and transmitting parasites and it is expensive to keep them as well. Therefore,  I personally believe that whether owning a pet benefit owners or not will depend on owners' various situations.