Do you think all students should have to study music? Support your opinion with reasons and examples.

In some school, learning music and learn to play a musical instrument is not necessary. However, in my vintage point, learning to play a musical instrument, for example, the piano, is crucial for primary school students. It gives them early exposure to the arts. What’s more, the learning process is beneficial to a child’s brain development. Researchers and psychologists have proved, time after time, that music makes you smarter, happier, and more productive. Although listening to music is good, actively playing musical instruments is even more useful. Playing a musical instrument helps change the workings of the brain and no doubt improves your cognitive skills. Scans of musicians’ brains have shown that music activates the hippocampus – a crucial component of the brain that optimises brain health, and enhances memory and mood. This gives musicians an academic advantage: but surely, it’s also a reason why students who do not currently play any musical instruments should be encouraged to learn. Learning to play a musical instrument helps shape your personality, which is essential especially for students in junior forms. It teaches them key skills such as how to manage their time, how to be responsible, and how to balance their studies with extracurricular activities. Finally, playing a musical instrument teaches patience and resilience. When students focus on playing a piece of music, their attention span increases – this is definitely a good thing when trying to pay attention in class or studying for an exam. All primary school students should learn to play at least one musical instrument