Do you believe that societies ought to enforce capital punishment or are there alternative forms of punishment that would be better used?

Is the death penalty an effective deterrent? I am completely against this kind of abuse. I am strongly opposing the capital punishment as it is inhuman. As you all are aware that human beings are prone to make mistakes from which they learn a lot. It's human psychology to rectify them over a period of time. Instead of imposing the death sentence, the convicted should be given a chance to take corrective measures. It is unmanly to execute a living being. This impacts the rise in violent crime. Disciplinary actions can be taken by thrashing some lower punishments on them. Consider an example of lifetime imprisonment which is almost equivalent to execution. Moreover, this enables the judicial bodies to misuse the penalty due to which innocent people are becoming the victims. The discriminatory attitude depending upon the geographical region, race, ethnicity etc. should be combated. It's a method of the encroachment of the human rights. On the other hand, some of the supporters insist on carrying out of death penalty. They believe that society would be safeguarded through this approach. It demands the reforms in the appeals process which are complex and expensive. There are some cases where the mentally impaired individuals are forced to death lessening their pain. Humans committing crimes is a worldwide accepted fact, but compelling them to death on these grounds is a cruel and unusual punishment. So I firmly defy the capital punishment.