TPO 43 Independent Writing TaskImagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect In your opinion which of the following is the best thing to do Interrupt and correct the mistake right away Wai

People have different approach in behaving in front of a mistake. I think the reaction is depend on the condition and in any condition and the importance of mistake and the formality and attendance of the meeting and who is making mistake. I think in different situation each of the reactions provided in the question would be appropriate. First, interupting and correcting rightaway is not the best approach as it sometimes makes people defensive and feeling disrespect. If the mistake is very important and there is not any other opprtunity to correct the person I think by asking question and ellaboration instead of confrontation we can elaborate and correct the person. In this way nobody will get hurt. Also, waiting until the end of meeting and talking in person is a very good way of communication and making rapport. However, sometimes waiting to the end provide significant harm to audience due to misinformation, following correction emails for attendance could sometimes reduce this misinformation. Therefore, this kind of communication provides more respect and less defensive behavior and more acceptable. Lastly, saying nothing is not a good approach unless the mistake is not big or important and not saying anything could be worthwhile. For instance, if the presenter show the slide and say something by mistake it might not be such a big deal and usually everybody underestands that mistake was unintentional and was just mistake in reading. However, I think we learn by our mistake and receiving feedbacks are part of our improvement and growth. Therefore, in other cases I prefer to receive feedback and be corrected and others might think like that too. So, in the case of very careless and not important mistakes we might consider just ignorance which does not harm anybody and anything. In other situations I think saying nothing is not a favor and it is a good idea to correct people but respect and nonjudgmental behavior would be the best appropriate approach. In conclusion, we might behave different in response to mistakes. It depends on the type of mistake and the importance of it and also the place of happening and the formality of the meeting. I think the second approach usually work better in most cases because produces less defensive behavior and more respect.