All university students should be required to take basic science courses even if it is not the field of their study.

Moving towards the 21st century, a large number of people are nowadays expressing a deeply growing concern about the main environmental problems in our contemporary world. In fact, there are some who hold firmly to their belief that the loss of individual species of plants and animals is the main environmental problem of our time. However, others argue convincingly that climate change and excessive use of plastic are considered to be the two major issues for our environment. Therefore, some arguments both for and against this issue will be addressed in the following paragraphs. To begin with, there are two main points for people to defend the former argument. First of all, it is a well-documented fact that attempts to preserve rare or dying species are carried out in zoos or other specialist plant and animal facilities, through breeding programs, preservation orders and other forms of protection. The most obvious example to prove is that there was genuine sadness among many when the last surviving white rhino died earlier this year. Furthermore, there is no doubt that survival of the fittest is nature’s way of ruthlessly allowing weaker specimens to die out. In addition to this, mankind has also contributed to falling animal numbers through hunting and poaching. On the other hand, there are two primary points for other people to support the latter argument. First and foremost, it is commonly accepted that rising sea levels and associated flooding with the loss of homes at low land levels are becoming more frequent. For instance, many countries and island communities are now calling for urgent action to delay, halt or even reverse the process, although the reversal is impossible. Equally important, there is no denying that birds and animals can die gruesome deaths through being trapped or caught up in plastic bags or ropes. In order to process the plastic bags, it takes many years for these plastics to disappear completely. All things considered, it is my strong belief that climate change and excessive use of plastic bags deserve our attention rather than loss of biodiversity. Accordingly, I highly recommend that the governments should enhance people’s awareness in terms of this environmental issue. If this recommendation is carried out, the comprehensive development of our nature will be ensured