: The effective leader tries to make others feel they have been part of a decision?

It is conceivable that it is difficult to become an effective leader who can bring the team to complete the mission fast and correct. Therefore, this raises the question whether the leader should try to make others feel they have been part of a decision. I hold the belief that it is important to have the discussion with the other people when making the decision. First, people will have less motivation to conduct the thing without his or her decision. In other words, if the leader can make others feel they have been part of a decision, it can promote followers working performance. Take myself for example. When I was a freshman, I had an internship at the bank. In the company, our boss always had the meeting with the employees on Monday. At that meeting, the boss would lead us to discuss the mission of this week and we all had the chance to convey our own opinion. In fact, we seldom revised the plan provided by the boss, but through this meeting, we felt that this was the decision made by ourselves. Therefore, we would work hard to complete it. On the contrary, if the company doesn' t have this meeting and all decision only made by the boss, the employees will feel that this is not my business and do not seriously look at the mission. Furthermore, it can help us to find the problem in the early stage by discussing with many people. To elaborate, in the discussion people can convey their opinions about the project, which can help the leader to merge different perspectives together and find out the problem quickly. Take my professor for instance. Last semester, my chemical professor made a research with his students. He separated his research into several parts and recruited some students to help him to conduct the research. Although he already was a famous professor, he was willing to discuss with the students before the research started. And in the discussion students asked many questions and offered some opinions to the research, which found out that professor overlooked an essential factor. If the professor just started the research without discussing with students, his research might fail and certainly would cause a big explosion. Many people may argue making followers feel they have been part of a decision is time wasting. If the leaders can make the decision by themselves can conduct the tasks much effective. However, I insist that by the discussion, we can make sure the followers fully understand what we are doing now, which can enhance their working effectiveness. In contrast, if the followers cannot realize the reason why leader make the policy change or design the new task, some of them might be reluctant to follow, causing the conflict in the organization. In conclusion, I take the position that the effective leader should make others feel they have been part of a decision because this not only can increase employees’ performance but also can find the problem out earlier.