The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily. Use specific reasons and e

As social animals, we human beings rely on different kinds of relationships to gain happiness, and an important one is friendship. Some people are making new friends all the time, while others believe maintaining the existing friendships are more essential. As I see, I believe the latter one is more important for happiness. To begin with, making new friends can be a time- and energy-consuming activity. New friends don' t automatically come to your side and become friends with you, unless there' s something you can help them with, especially in adult world. You need to approach them actively and talk and talk and talk. This is usually how friendships are established, and this process takes energy and time. Some may argue that talking to new people might be an enjoyment for some people, I tend to believe that what they really enjoy is being not alone, which can be also achieved by keeping deep friendship with old friends. Secondly, if we think about how friendship turns into happiness, we could say that because friends can help us both emotionally and practically. However, this might only be the case when we talk about long-term friendships, rather than a short-term, superficial one. Imagine yourself being really upset because something unpleasant happened to you, who would you turn to for help? A friend who you just met yesterday at a party or one you' ve known for years? I believe most people would choose the latter option, for obvious reasons. For one thing, they know you better so are more likely to understand how you' re feeling; and for another, they are the ones who really care about you and. Being understood and cared, as I see, is what cheers you up when you' re down. Then let' s think about the practical issue. If you lost your wallet with all your money and cards in it, who would you borrow your money from? In most, if not all occasions, I suppose, you would ask an old friend rather than a new one. That is because you know they trust you more, thus are more likely to offer help to you. In contrast, people you just acquitted with might be worrying that you won' t ever pay them back. The trust, which takes time to establish, is another merit of long-term friendship in comparison with the short-term one. To sum up, as old friends are more likely to provide emotional as well as practical help for us, and doesn' t require extra time and energy, it is more likely to contribute to our happiness. Therefore, I believe that maintaining friendships with a few people for a long time is more important.