People today are much better informed about international news that they were in the past. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

As the times are changing, the way people view the world and consume news is also changing. The statement notes that people have become more informed about international news than they were in the past. Personally, I agree with the statement for two reasons. I will explore these reasons in the essay below. First of all, with the introduction of internet in our lives, it has become much easier to be in touch with global news. In the past, the sources of news were television, radio and newspaper. With limited time or space to deliver news, it seemed like a better idea to deliver local and relevant news. Internet allowed for unlimited access to news and people became more inclined to read news about other countries. Let us consider the example of #metoo movement that took place recently. #metoo movement, a movement against sexual harassment, would not have gained any traction if it was not for internet. Internet gave every victim a voice and platform for their voice to be heard, irrespective of their geographical location. Internet enabled everyone to hear out these voices from around the world and empathize with them. As people started empathizing with the stories, they took efforts to follow the news and help #metoo evolve into a movement. This would not have happened in the past because news sources did not have the means to enable #metoo gain traction and become a movement for people to care. The lines between the countries are becoming blurred by the day and we are moving towards a globalisation. Globalisation has led to increasing number of multinational companies, collaboration between governments, decrease in price of international transportation and ease of studying abroad. Consequently, it has become imperative for everyone to be informed about what is happening in the world. For instance, if someone wants to apply for a job in the United States and the person lives in London, he/she must be well aware of the news related to United States. If the person does not know about the major events in United States or how those events affect the success of the company he/she is applying for, he/she may not get the job. In the times of globalisation, people have a strong motivation to be informed about international news than they had in the past. As a result, we see more people following global news than ever before. In conclusion, I am of the opinion that people are much better informed about international news because of ease of access and greater motivation. Internet has provided with the access and globalisation has provided with the motivation.