It is more important for students to study history and literature than it is for them to study science and mathematics.

Debate on awarding extra weightages to history and literature than science has not been settled. It is believed that studying history and art is necessary than science. I believe that this notion is wrong as development in science brought so many benefits to civilization. Studying science subjects offers so many advantages. First and foremost, these subjects are theoretical and practical both which provide an insight about the concepts. Students not only understand the concepts but also do it in laboratory and see the formulas turning into stages. For instance, I was taught chemistry theory course and also given an understanding how gas is formed when two substances are mixed. Furthermore, engineering subjects which are mostly derived from core science subjects are innovate in nature and attract students to discern something new. Fervent pupils devote time in small innovation and some time it leads to effective working model. Particularly in technical institutes, labs are opened in day & nights and wards conceptualize their ideas and invent new model. For example, my brother who study in India institute of technology recently contributed in discoveries related to hydro fuel which is a need of the time as it could be possible primary source of fuel in the future. Finally, concept of science solve major problem in the society. Advocates of history and arts believe that science subjects repel students from learning native culture and society. These people contemplate that knowing about history and art enable student to contribute more in society. Granted, study of past events and existing culture enhance the level of information about civilization where they live, but it is seen that people learn about society and culture from the environments and sometimes even science graduates are more knowledgeable than arts stream students and in the past critical problems in society were solved through technology intervention. To sum-up, though arts and history subjects are critical for protecting the nation’s identity and culture, benefits of science can’t be ignored and future lies on innovation and discovery in science and engineering.