Young people devote less time to helping their communities nowadays than were they in past.

It is generally accepted that each person should pay due attention to the community where they live, since all of us are /is/ responsible for its proper development. Meanwhile, the changing world seems to create obstacles in that respect, since the life itself limits our involvement in community issues. This is especially true in case of young people, who, I am prone to believe, do not spend sufficient time in order to help their communities. I feel this way for several reasons, which I will explore in the following essay. To begin with, we, the generation of young people, have to pay much more attention to our education nowadays than it was in the past. This is explained by the fact that the present world is much more competitive than it was, and, consequently, we have to pass through tough competition to succeed in our lives. On the other hand, good education gives more chances to win that contest. My own experience is a compelling example of this. Thus, when I received my master' s degree and tried to find a job, I soon realized that in order to succeed I need to continue my education, as there were many other potential employees with the same level of knowledge. As a result, I had to study for more three years, and, of course, this limited my involvement in the community life. Also, at present it is harder to have a career growth, since there are many hard working and committed individuals around. That is why, in order to receive a better job we should work day and night, paying minimum attention to our other duties. For instance, in my case, I had to work for 9 years all day long in order to have a promotion from the researcher position to the position of the senior researcher. It is hard to imagine that I would have succeeded, if I paid more attention to the local community issues. To sum up briefly, it is a fact that the changes in life make us more focused on our professional and career issues. We have little time to give to our communities because we have to study more, and because our work takes a lot of time from us.