For students, the ability to listen well is as important as the ability to read well

Students are required to have many skills to be able to comprehend and understand their classes. Some people might think that reading before class is more important than listening during a proefssor' s lecture and taking notes. However, I find myself agreeing with the opinion that listening is just as significant as reading. learners need to pay extreme attention to what the teacher says. I feel this way for many reasons, which I will explore in the following essay. First and foremost, while reading raises questions about the topic in the students' minds, active listening will help students to get the right answers for these pondering questions. A new subject material to a student will not be easy to go through because sometimes there would be vague terms that demand further explanations. Reading help undergraduates to wonder about the meaning of concepts. Listening efficiently, on the other hand, offers the missing information to complete the puzzle. My own experience is a compelling example on that. When I was in college, I had a good habit to read before my organic chemistry class. While reading, I used to face difficulty getting the meaning behind certain ideas. Nevertheless, the professor during class used to explore all the sides of the arguments to make sure students are not lost. As a result, by lending an ear in class, I was able to do better on this course. Secondly, paying attention to what the teacher mentions in class is critical since the educator usually categorizes the curriculum into more important and less important information. The students should focus on the essential knowledge in the class and there is no way to recognize these important ideas other than attending lectures and putting some effort in listening. For instance, some courses in college were so big that it was impossible to study the entire course during the semester. During lectures, the professor used to point out the significant information that we needed to concentrate on. Consequently, this saved us a lot of time and energy. To sum up, In my view, listening is a crucial skill class that every student should perfect to guarantee success during university years. This is because it abets full comprehension of concepts and it prevents students from wasting too much time on less necessary ideas.