People should not have to pay for public transportation that they use.

At present, it is extensively acknowledged that in the process of social development, the city transportation system have been ameliorated greatly and it has provided a lot of convenience for citizens. Within this context, a disputable statement, which people often talked over, has emerged that public transportation they have used should be free for citizens. On the one hand, some people support this statement since they think the public construction should be free including transportation. However, other people are on the contrary side because they think everyone has their responsibility. As far as I concerned, I totally disagree with this statement that people do not pay for public transportation. At first, if people don' t need to pay for public transportation, risks of transporting would increase and would be harder to respond. When there is no restriction on tickets, it is self-evident that more people will use public transportation, which leads to more potential security risks. For example, one day there is a lot of people in the subway station, the waiting area is really crowded. Unfortunately, my phone was stolen by a thief in the crowd. It took me a lot of time to call the police and find back my phone because so many people that it declines the efficiency and ability to respond to passengers' emergency. In this way, the potential risks have increased and become more difficult to respond. In addition, take the subway as an example. If it is free, the cost of repairing and testing would be covered by the government, which also used the tax from the citizens. It may lead the city government to increase the tax on everybody. For instance, one study from UCLA which modeled the consequence after the free policy shows that average tax will increase by 3 to 5 percentage to every citizen. That means this situation which people have access to public transportation freely is more expensive than the normal situation that people have to pay for it. Therefore, without the financial support from the public, the cost is still and even more needed to be covered by the money from the public. All in all, regarding to the potential risks and increased tax, it seems that it is tenable that people should pay for the public transportation fee.