People should spend money on things that last a long time, such as expensive pieces of jewelry, than spend money on short-term pleasureslike vacations.

To begin with, the statement that spending money on long-term items is more beneficial than spending money on short-term pleasures is an intriguing topic because people tend to use up their money very soon after they receive the salaries. In my point of view, I agree with the statement that money is supposed to be spent on items that last a long time. First, long-term objects or services usually benefit owners the whole lives even the following generations. It is important to think about the future, not only ourselves but also our children and future generations. For example, buying books is a good way to absorb knowledge. Because of the books' long lasting feature, as long as they are preserved well, the books could still be taken out to read after decades. It is so memorial that one day we as grandparents, read the antique books to our grandchildren and tell them our thoughts when we were young. Therefore, spending money on long-term items benefits both us and future generations. In addition, some long-term items or services are profitable and can be used as a method of wealth management. There is no doubt that the rich tend to spend their money more cautiously, especially on the objects that can bring about profit. For instance, a great number of people in China are convinced that buying real estates is the best way to fight inflamation and increse their fortune. The property price in China has dramatically increased since 15 years ago. In some major cities like Beijing and Shanghai, the property values are so prohibitive that mid-class workers have no way to afford. However, it reflects that spending money on long-term items is a wise decision. Admittedly, it is true that people tend to spend money on short-term pleasures such as travel, shopping, movies as the result of the economy development. Spending money on these kinds of items sometimes are beneficial since it certainly helps relax us after a long day or period of working. For example, most of young people would go for a pretty nice dinner on every Friday night, after which they might continue with some recreations such as drinking at bars or watching movies at cinemas. Moreover, if keep saving money instead of spending it, people might feel lost about their jobs, because they will be confused why they work so hard to make a living. To sum up, even though there are certain benefits to spend money on short-term pleasures, people, especially those who are young, should still save money to spend on items that are really beneficial in a long run.