It is important for children to learn to draw or paint.

These days, every point when you turn on the television or flick through the pages of a newspaper, you often learn about the victims of crime. But what is the most effective method of dealing with the rising crime rate in our society? Some people believe that the best way to punish criminals is to sentence them to present in the penitentiary. I completely disagree with this idea and in this essay I will support my opinion with examples. Firstly, life in jail is far too comfortable for prisoners. For example, many inmates have access to luxuries such as televisions, computers and sports facilities and so on. In other words, spending turn behind bars is more like being in a holiday camp. If penitentiary is going to act as a deterrent, then I believe it needs to be considerably tougher. Another reason why I disagree with confinement as a punishment is that a large number of prisoners are not actually a danger to society. Take shoplifters as an example. They are often locked up in the same cells as murderers, rapists and violent criminals. I strongly believe that this is a serious waste of taxpayer's money. What is more, petty criminals may even learn how to commit more serious crimes when they are inside. On the other hand, there is an argument that lockup can help to rehabilitate offenders. Many inmates have the opportunity to study while they have a point. As a result, many never re-offend when they are released. In conclusion, although it is a common belief that jail is the best way to punish criminals, I believe it is too soft and that it is not necessary in the majority of cases. Personally, I think lockup should be the last option when all else has failed