educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

In recent times, some youngsters prefer taking a break before starting their university studies and during this period, they are encouraged to work or travel. This essay will discuss the positive and the negative aspects of this time off from studies. One of the main advantages of taking a break after high school is to discover a hidden passion. This will benefit students to a greater extent as they will start exploring their career options where there is a possibility of finding a vision for their future. For instance, Steve Jobs found his passion and created ‘Apple’ only after taking a break from his studies. Therefore, taking a year gap from studies gives students a chance to try various career paths and helps them choose one they like. On the contrary, some students face a lot of difficulties when they travel during this break like home sickness, language barriers, monetary constraints and health conditions. Since they are still teenagers, they would not have attained the maturity to travel alone. For example, a recent survey shows that more than 50% of student travelers return to their home country even before completing their trip because of they do not have enough money to cover their trip. Thus, even though students choose to travel during their break, they might come back sooner as they will face a myriad of challenges. In conclusion, though taking a break of one year before starting university studies helps to find a passion, it also has a lot of challenges. It is always advisable to students to consider both advantages and disadvantages before taking a break from studies.