Modern societies need specialists in certain fields, but not in others. Some people therefore think that governments should pay university fees for students who study subjects that are needed by society. Those who choose to study less relevant subjects should not receive government funding. Would the advantages of such an educational policy outweigh the disadvantages?

In this modern era, there are different areas of education and students have the freedom to choose any subjects that they want to learn. However, some people have a perception that specializations must be done only in certain fields rather than others and they believe that the government must pay fees for the University students who study these subjects than others. I disagree with the viewpoint that the advantages exceed the disadvantages. Firstly, the students in every country have a right to select the subjects that they want to study and they have also been successful in it. Although, there are many professions like doctors, engineers, lawyers and teachers which are very popular and important course in our country, but still people join other courses like fashion designing, commerce, charted accountancy. Even though these professions have less popularity when compared to former fields, but the government should provide funding to these people. Moreover, the fields that people think are less important might gain more importance than other subjects. For example, a decade ago, charted accountancy was not an important course and only 10 out of 100 people have chosen this, but now many people are choosing this path of education. On the other hand, the cabinet may provide an extra funding for pupils who are studying the significant specializations, but they can also encourage other areas of study. Moreover, nowadays hotel management and fashion designing have equal importance like doctors and engineers, and they are also earning equal income. Therefore, if the council provides a little more support for such course of study, then more pupils will be interested to join them. For example, in countries like Malaysia and Singapore, the government has supported and encouraged the hotel management pupils more and these people are working in top restaurants and hotels around the globe. In conclusion, there is nothing like less valued branch of study, and moreover, each and every specialization has its own importance in one place or the other. Therefore, in my opinion, the council must support all the branch of studies equally.