Parents should allow children to make their own choices rather than determine their future for them.

Due to advanced medical solutions, the average lifespan of human being has increased, especially, in the developed countries. Although the higher elderly population has given rise to some problems, there are solutions. One of the first problems due to increased life expectancy is a huge burden on the taxpayers. Clearly, governments have to allocate more money towards the pension scheme in order to ensure the survival of the senior citizens. This can be made possible only by deducting additional tax from working population ages. Another major problem is added financial responsibility on the shoulders of the young members of the family. Older people are more prone to health-related issues and diseases, thus, the monthly expense of affected family is liable to rise, imposing extra spending on doctor’s visits and medication. In addition, youngsters have to sacrifice their time to take care of their older relatives. However, it is important to tackle these problems. Governments should ensure that the retirement age is raised. For example, the current pension age in most developed nations is 60. While the aged people are healthy and can work efficiently, they should be allowed to work at least till the age of 65. This could alleviate government responsibilities towards the senior population. Moreover, wealthy countries should strive to achieve further improvement in their healthcare sector by investing in more advanced medical research which can help reduce unhealthy conditions in old age, so that senior people can live a healthy life without relying on their offspring. In conclusion, the increase in life expectancy has raised the responsibility of governments and young individuals. However, intelligent new regulations such as increasing the retirement age and helping the senior citizens to live healthily could mitigate the impacts of the aging population.