Watching television is not agood way to spend one’s time.

With the advent of urbanization and rise in modern technologies, there have been accompanying issues with the environment such as Global Warming. In this essay, I shall discuss the consequences of climate change on our environment and steps that the government and an individual can take to prevent environmental degradation. Firstly, with the highest concentration of carbon dioxide, methane and other greenhouse gases in the atmosphere, the ozone layer is depleting at a dramatic rate. As a result, humans are now more prone to life threatening diseases such as skin cancer, asthma. Secondly, deforestation and the rise in temperature have adversely affected the migration patterns of various wild animals. Those species who are unable to adapt themselves according to these changes are now on the verge of extending. This may cause serious imbalance in our ecosystem. While the government and large corporate industries hold the major responsibility of protecting our planet, we as an individual should play our part to help the cause. Political leaders across the globe should provide large financial funds to organizations for preserving endangered species. In order to reduce the concentration of greenhouse gases, multinational companies should incorporate more environmental friendly approach towards manufacturing products. Further to this, we as an individual should switch towards using non renewable sources of energy. For example, solar energy can be a major source of electricity production during summer. In addition, by planting more trees in our surroundings and using public transport or hybrid vehicles for transportation, it is possible to reduce global warming. In conclusion, while global warming is a serious threat to humanity, there are a number of steps that can be taken to reduce its effects.