The rules that the whole society today expect young people to follow are too strict.

People have always been influenced by many things around them. Peers and friends of the same age group are one of the key things who have a substantial influence on a person's life choices and decisions. This particular influence is called "peer pressure" which can be very disadvantageous for a person as it may lead to some very dangerous and life threatening choices. First and foremost, as per scientific research, peer pressure is linked to one of the highest stress factors in a person's day to day life. This pressure from the friend often leads a person to do things which they will think twice before doing under normal circumstances. For example, in a friend circle of five one is a non-smoker there is a very good probability of him to start smoking due to peer pressure and get addicted to smoking for his whole life. While this peer pressure is usually not addressed, although it can change a person's personality in a way that he starts to behave, dress and even speak like his peers. This happens when a person tries to be a part of the group, but they don't accept him until he actually starts to look like him. For instance, when I tried to be a part of the skateboarding group, as they were also from the same street, they were not very open to teach and mingle with me until I started to dress and act like them. This eventually lead me to start drinking as they all were regular drinkers unlike me so in order for them to be my good friends I started to go to pubs and drinking regularly. In conclusion, peer pressure usually is quite powerful, mostly negative, and it can cause a person to change his lifestyle and personality in order to be accepted by people of the same age group. I personally think that the disadvantages of peer pressure far outweigh the few advantages of it.