: The only effective way to encourage energy conservation is increasing the price of gasoline and electricity.

Energy conservation is once again in the limelight all across the globe. Some environmentalists maintain that to put up the price of gasoline and electricity in the only effective way to realize the goal. As much as I can relate to what is intended to such idea, I just do not think it deserves to be called the only effective way. Sure, it is tempting to think this proposal can work like a charm. By raising the price of electricity, government is urging every household to cut back on energy consumption. When seeing the utility bills go up, people would think twice in terms of electronic appliances such lights out during that day time, choosing fans over air conditioners during heat weaves and keeping windows shut tight to keep heat in during cold winters. Quite similarly, with the rising cost of gasoline, commuters are more likely to walk, bike, car pool and use mass transit. So higher prices do help reduce energy consumption, but let’s face it, it is just one side of the story. People are going to be gritting their teeth because normally nobody likes those high prices coming out of their wallets. For those people who live in rural areas, there is no public transportation; and for those who live on a budget, they would face a financial burden that could strict their places to go to things to do. Since this proposal comes with drawbacks that could easily counterfeit its short-term benefits, it is necessary to take into consideration alternatives that can serve the same purpose. First, government should invest on usable and sustainable energy. It is no secret that solar alternative fuel like solar energy can be the ray of hope for bright future ahead. Solar cars who run freely and abundantly without reliance of gasoline is the key to energy conservation. At present, lots of research is being carries out to run the cars, but the funding problem still get in the way. If the government can sponsor this program, there is no doubt that energy efficiency will be guaranteed and conservation work will also be taken care of. Beside, a low carbon lifestyle should be encouraged. Business and government have to take the lead. They have to show that they have done everything they can, and then they could ask people to join the journey. For example, eco-labeled companies tend to reduce waste, reuse and recycle components and extend products’ durability ( life span) and recyclability. And government should educate the public about starting small, such as reducing the amount of waste by buying minimally packaged goods, choosing reusable products instead of disposable ones and recycling. Also, they should be informed that traditional light bulbs have higher energy costs and lower life spans. We would better opt for LED alternatives that not only last longer but also cut energy consumption considerably. To sum up, it is not to say increasing the price of gasoline and electricity cannot motivate energy conservation, but its downsides overshadow its theoretical effects. While other options are available, this proposal should by no means be the only effective one.