: Is it as important for older people to study or learn new things as it is for younger people?

As an old saying goes, you cannot teach an old dog new trick. That’s why people normally believe it is hard to change habits and acquire new skills. But I think it is not true and the elderly have every reason to keep up with the times. For one thing, keeping open-minded to new things helps raise life quality. While technological advances have greatly simplified lives and diversified means of entertainment, old generation are missing out on the convenience young people take for granted. For example, if the old can be encouraged to use Uber, a cellphone-based cab service, they would not have to stand by the sideway, wait on cold winter nights and leave it all up to chance. Instead, all they need to do is to type in the destination, set departure time and choose a car brand. And then the online system would sift through all the cars in the neighborhood and pick the right one according to the given criterion. In this case, the nearest car driver would pick the passage up right on time. The same goes for household chores. With the advent of smart technology, electronic appliances like dish washer and vacuum cleaner have all come into being, which deliberates the elderly from grunt work. Besides, they used to have limitless recreational activities due to the constraint of physical conditions. But things won’t be the same if the old know a thing or two about computers and the virtual world. The simulation games and home theater system would take entertainment to the next level without taking old people outdoor. For another, mastering new skills helps bridge the generation gap. Young people are innately fast learners. Everyday they are bombarded with all kinds of novel ideas and new inventions. This exposure will reshape their mindset and mentality. When they incorporate newly minted knowledge and skills into their daily lives, the way they look at the world will start to evolve and differ from that of their elder generations. A retired grandpa might find it hard to understand when seeing the teenage grandson either texting or taking selfies on his cellphone, a device never far away from his grasp. But if the old man knows how to download a social app and sign in to an account, he will come to realization that such photo-taking obsession is nothing but a way to seek attention and feel good about oneself. By updating homepage, posting everyday events and commenting on each other, young people will feel free to socialize on the virtual network. So if the old man can learn some tricks and check out Twitter and Facebook, he will soon get familiar with hot topics and buzzwords. To sum up, taking in new things is important not only to young people; but the elderly can also be better served if they give it a shot.