Some people believe that video games could inspire young students' interest and make their study more efficient rather than distracting them and a waste of time, so young students should be allowed to play video games.

Nowadays, computer games occupy a huge portion of young people’s time. Truth be told, whether young adults should be allowed to play computer games or not has generated a lot of controversy lately. Some people are the leading proponents of the belief that computer games assist students in their studies, and boost their learning. However, I assert that despite having some benefits, computer games’ disadvantages outweigh its advantages significantly. In the following paragraphs, I will aptly substantiate my viewpoint. First exquisite point to be mentioned is that parents can barely control what young students play. There is a plethora of inappropriate games which not only promote bad behavior, but they also cause young adults to be accustomed to some taboos. For instance, some games encourage players to commit crime, while other games persuade players to participate in anarchy. Furthermore, some games are exceedingly violent, in which players are obliged to kill other players. This kind of games will definitely have catastrophic results, and they have negative effects on young people’s morality and character. Moreover, another conspicuous aspect of computer games is that they waste students’ precious time, which otherwise could be spent on useful tasks. Students should devote majority of their attention to their studies, since it is their sole purpose to excel in education and become a successful person in a not-so-distant future. Nevertheless, they spend countless hours on playing useless computer games. Also, playing a lot of computer games contribute to sedentary life, which will bring about numerous physical and mental problems, one of which is weakening of eyesight. However, students should engage on regular exercising in order to alleviate problems regarding inactivity. It goes without saying that computer games are highly addictive. For this reason, students get more and more used to playing hours of computer games, which might further intensify the problems. Admittedly, not to mention the emergence of economic problems would be an oversight. Computer games are expensive. Also, people not only pay a lot of money to build powerful machines to run the upcoming computer games, but they also spend a lot of money to play those games online with their peers. This amount of money spent on gaming is a waste. It could be spent on other healthy activities such as sports and traveling, which actually help students improve their life conditions. In addition, university tuition fees are continuing to soar these days, therefore, it is crucial for families to save a significant some of money in order to afford their young adults’ attending colleges and universities. To recapitulate, playing computer games has a number of drawbacks. Some computer games have negative effects on students. Also, playing computer games wastes a lot of time and money. Consequently, young adults should not be allowed to play computer games at all.