Many people believed the increasing fuel cost may reduce the traffic congestion and air pollution. >

The sheer number of private cars on the street is thought to be responsible for traffic jam and the emission from these cars are causing air pollution. Many people believed that increasing the gasoline price will deter the general public from buying the personal car and thereby it will reduce the traffic congestion and decrease the greenhouse gas production. In my opinion, the city dwellers will continue to drive their own cars unless the government provide a comfortable and affordable public transport system for them. Government and policymaker have to put their thought collectively in developing a sustainable urban transport system which can carry a large number of passengers effectively. Furthermore, the city council have to focus on promoting the use of the bicycle to commute to and from the workplace. Rising car ownership is related to economic growth and the accelerated rate of globalization. Most of the people in major cities around the world depend on the private car to travel because of comfort and security, despite the high fuel cost. The rural areas and outskirts of the city have a limited number of bus and train service or no service at all. The public transport system are not friendly to Individual with restricted mobility. There are no washroom and entertainment facilities on the train. These are the potential draw back that inhibit the general public to use mass transit. On the other hand, the existing road condition is not safe for cycling as there is no designated lane on the highway and on the streets at community level for bicycling. Cycling is environmentally friendly and good for physical and mental health. Cycling is a good physical exercise that keep the vital parameter of health within the normal limit and does not cause any emission. Therefore, the number of cars is on the rise. Apart from congestion and pollution, it is also linked to increase number of road traffic accidents. Increasing the gasoline price would increase the transportation cost, leading to rise of commodities price. Government need a comprehensive plan with a aim to develop affordable, sustainable, and environmental friendly urban transport system. In my opinion, expansion Bus Rapid Transit, Subway and Light-rail would be the best option for mass people transit effectively and timely manner. These modes of transport are economically viable and environmentally sustainable and operate for longer period, so cost effective. Bicycle friendly roads development would reduce the number of cars on the street. City should opt transit-oriented real estate development that would further decrease congestion. Decentralization of adminstrative facilities, court, health care and recreation facilities to rural areas will reduce the number of vehicles on the highway. In conclusion, the use of private vehicle will continue to rise despite traffic clog road and pollution. The effect of rising fuel cost will have a transient effect on the reduction of number of cars on the roads, while accessible and affordable urban transport system and provision of safe cycling track on the street can alleviate the congestion and pollution.