Do the dangers derived from the use of chemicals in food production and preservation outweigh the advantages?

The application of the chemistry in the food industry has resulted in evolutionary developments in food production in terms of safety from opportunistic contamination as well as improving the taste and flavour of the processed products. Yet, the involvement of these synthetic substances into our food chain has many drawbacks which overall surpass their advantages and hence, endanger the utilisers’ lives. This essay will shed light on the reason why and how these chemical additives embody a major threat to human health. First of all, adding chemicals to improve the taste-quality of the food does nothing good with the nutritional value. In fact, some of the chemical ingredients counteract with the food components in a way that eventually lead to the reduction of the essential nutrients, which primarily required for strengthening the human body, particularly at the early stage of the growth. To easily illustrate, people who almost live on organic diet enjoy a healthier lifestyle and stronger outfit compared to those who majorly consume processed and additives-enriched products. Furthermore, the presence of chemical substances in our nutrition, especially those used for preservation, threatens the lives of the consumers in several ways. Firstly, some of these substances are found to be carcinogens. In other words, it is discovered that they interact with the cellular components and provoke free radicals, which result in uncontrollable tumorous growth, the so-called cancer disease. In addition to this, the overwhelming use of preservative chemicals into foodstuff helps in the emergence of antibiotic-resistant pathogenic bacteria which embody a serious dilemma to major scientists and would put the life of the humanity on the line. Having discussed the dangers of the chemical application in the food industry, the degradation of the necessary nutrients and the health complications after the consumption are the major disadvantages.