Discuss the advantages of promotion based on seniority or performance and provide your point of view.

Many people in my country envision working for one organization their entire lives. This is because they do not want to start hunting for jobs again. I posit that almost nobody would deny a promotion within the company he or she works for. But how should promotions be granted? This paper will discuss the advantages of promoting people based on their seniority or performance. A short conclusion will wind it up. On one hand, promoting people based on their seniority is acknowledging the effort they' ve put in for the development of the company. Doing so will encourage junior employers to work hard to ensure that they become senior employees as well. For example, my cousin Albert had worked for Bill Farm, an agricultural firm in Senegal, for 20 years when he got promoted to the position of C. E. O. Elisa, his sister who was a junior in the company, ensured that she never quit it as a result of her brother' s promotion. Over a period of 10 years, she was promoted, so were many other people within the organization. Promoting workers based on the time they spent in a firm is an effective way to keep the ones who really know the company and can improve it outcomes. On the other hand, performance-based promotions are great means to encourage people to work hard within their company. In fact, when everybody knows that if they are going to work their way up through working hard, they will be prompted to do so. This will create a positive professional competition in the company and increase the productivity. As an example, when I was an academic assistant at Bridge2Rwanda, they promoted me to become the leader of the teams of academic assistants because my students performed way better than others. Because of my promotion, my colleague named Chris worked harder than me in the following year and his students outperformed mine. Our competition helped us give our students the best of us; consequently, we improved the mission of the Bridge2Rwanda high school. Granting promotion based on an employee' s performance will enable them to work hard in order to avoid becoming average workers. In my opinion, it' s better to promote people based on their performance at work. Promoting according to the time one has spent in the company is unfair because being a senior does not necessarily mean being the most productive. The most productive employers should be the ones getting promoted because they are the ones ensuring that the organization is making profit and running properly.