Occasionally, students in elementary school are allowed to advance to the next grade even though they have not successfully completed the lower grade. Advocates of “social promotion” think that keeping a child in a grade for longer than a year hurts his or her development and self-esteem. with the idea of social promotion? Use logical arguments and specific examples to support your opinion

There are differing viewpoints as to whether or not students in elementary school are allowed to advance to the next grade even though they have not successfully completed the lower grade. Keeping students who are falling behind their grade-level in the same grade without a thoughtful intervention plan can be problematic. Therefore, I agree with the idea of social promotion because grade-level retention is a “wait-to-fail” model of remediation, and it is not a type of effective academic intervention. In promoting students’ academic success, the school should consider a school-wide proactive strategy rather than implementing grade-level retention for students who are not meeting their benchmark standards. For example, the school may consider conducting (present participle) a school-wide screening at the beginning of each school year. The purpose of the screening is to identify students who are at-risk in certain academic areas at an early stage. If students are identified as at-risk, the school will provide additional academic supports that are based on the students’ needs, such as small group instruction or peer-tutoring program. Early identification along with a thoughtful intervention plan will increase the likelihood of students’ future school success. In contrast, grade-level retention is a “wait-to-fail” model remediation, and perhaps, an ineffective form of intervention for the student. As a future educator, I disagree with this remediation strategy because it does not help the students academically rather it emotionally harms the students. For instance, students who experience academic stress without some appropriate supports may further develop mental health problems. Placing students who have been retained in the same grade with younger students contributes to the students’ feelings of failure. In the long run, this will impact their mental health. Finally, we want to see our students to succeed in school academically, socially, and behaviorally. To do this, we need to create and implement some antecedent interventions instead of keeping them in the same grade for a longer time. Therefore, social promotion is a better alternative to student success than retention.