A company has announced that it wishes to build a new factory near your community. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this influence on your community. Do you support or oppose the factory? Explain your position.

I, personally, support the decision the decision of building the new factory in the premises of the community. The decision has tremendous implications on the community. There are far more positive than the negative influences of the factory on the community. The factory will help in economic growth of the society depended on it and thus pave way for an overall healthy economic growth. It will provide a stable income for the families depending on it. As the income will grow, it will create a more stable life for the residents and lead to an overall development of the people. Along with it, the company will also lead to the development of the area in which it is located. By providing better public amenities like schools, public transportation, etc, will enhance the value of locality and create a sustainable growth for the future generations to come. An excellent example of such type of development is emergence of Jamshedpur. It came into existence as a well-planned city, thanks to the contributions of The Tata Industries. The company had set up a steel manufacturing plant in the locality. As the factory grew, it led to the development of Jamshedpur as it received multiple benefits in the form of infrastructure, transportation, civic amenities like schools, parks, etc. The community depending on the factory, too, had a healthy growth because of the strong efforts put by the company towards its people. The efforts taken by the company has borne fruits and Jamshedpur is considered to be one of the best planned cities in India. Though the factory may have multiple positive implications on the society, it still has some adverse effects on its surroundings. The environment may get affected badly if no proper attention is paid to the effluents discharged by the factory. It may result in bad air quality or the degraded quality of water to its people. But, this all depends on how concerned the company is to the outcomes. If the company does care about the surroundings, then it will ensure that no inimical actions are taken by it. Hence, it can be said that setting up a factory surely improves the lifestyle of the community in which it is located and can be a vital contributor to the overall development of the society.