Discipline is an ever increasing problem in modern schools. Some people think that discipline should be the responsibility of teachers, while others believe that this is the role of the parents.

Maintaining discipline among young students has always been an unenviable task. Some people believe that the responsibility of enforcing discipline rests with the teachers, while others believe that this task must be shouldered by the parents. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of this argument and explain why I strongly believe that parents must discipline their children. On one hand, children spend a bulk of their days in schools, in close proximity to their teachers. Hence, students begin to look up to their tutors as role models in daily life. For example, gym instructors are revered by their pupils, and try to imbibe the qualities that they express. Therefore, it becomes imperative that teachers take it upon themselves to be beacons of self discipline, so as to inculcate the same in their students. On the other hand, children spend their initial years being raised solely by their parents. At such an impressionable age, it becomes the duty of the care givers to instill the seeds of discipline in their growing minds. For instance, most boys, growing up, are often seen wearing their father's shoes and ties to try and mirror him. As parents, clearly, have such a significant effect on their progeny, disciplining their wards becomes a part and parcel of a guardian's duties. In my view, teachers are responsible for hundreds of youths that pass through their classes every year. Thus, it becomes unfair for them to assume the sole responsibility of ensuring discipline amongst those that they teach. Parents, on the other hand, are tasked with shaping the personalities of their own offspring only. In conclusion, I think that parents and teachers must share the burden of building a child's character, but the onus must fall on the parents. It becomes imperative that there exists a combined effort between the two support structures in a child's life, in order to curb the growing menace of indiscipline.