Directors and managers of organisations are often older people. Some people say that it is better for younger people to be leaders.

Decision made by the leaders and initiatives taken by them often determines the fate of an organisation and that is why selecting the right people for the senior decision-making positions in a company is an important step. It is customary that employees in directorship and managerial positions often requires years of experience while some people opine that young should be given the chance to lead a company. I cannot agree with this group of people as I believe that those decision-making  positions are more suitable for experienced people. To start with, directors or managers of an organisation were not directly appointed to these positions in most of the cases. They had to work for the company for several years, prove their worth, show their loyalty, establish their credibility and express their ability to be promoted to those senior positions. With the time, they have become quite experienced and learned from their mistakes. Thus their experience and expertise have taught them when to take a risk and when not to and how to tackle complex situations like riots or rivalry from the competitors. Due to this, decisions made and initiatives taken by those senior employees are more trustworthy and proven than any inexperienced employee, no matter how energetic or innovative he is! Furthermore, young people have endless spirit, fresh perspectives, technological know-how and innovative ideas which are more fitting for producing better output than leading others. They should be guided by senior leaders who had once been young and fresh but now have more experience than energy. To cite an example. most of the IT firms have young employees but their team leads are mostly seniors. Again, young people are often driven by emotion and make quick decisions. This might be quite handy in facing some minor issues but when a large organisation's fate is concerned, the decisions should come from experienced executives. This, however, does not mean that a manager should not listen to young employees and take input from them. Finally, leading a small team in an organisation and being an executive director in a large company are not the same thing. Young adults who have some leadership qualities should be allowed to lead a team but major decisions making positions should be held by deserving experienced personnel. To sum up, I am not against letting young people take some responsibilities or lead a small team. But from a more logical perspective, I believe that only experienced adults with a proven track-record should be in higher positions in an organisation.