Some people believe when famous people support international aid, it makes the general public think about it. Others think celebrities make the problem less important.

Today, it is not rare to see celebrities actively take part in philanthropy activities, giving rise to the term “celebrity humanitarians”. While some people advocate that this development will help raise public awareness regarding the issue, others believe celebrities instead make the problem less important than it ought to be. I will discuss both views and then state my opinion. On the one hand, some people believe celebrities dilute the importance of the problems. There have been many cases where the involvement of a celebrity only serves as tabloid materials rather than educates the public about the issue, especially when the celebrities’ main motive is to promote their name. For example, a model once published a series of her nude photos, citing her opposition to the illegal poaching of animals in Africa as the main motive, but never mentioned anything about how serious the issue of illegal poaching was in following interviews. On the other hand, it is undeniable that celebrities are ideal candidates to alert the mass people to the pressing issues, if for no other reason than their unparalleled diverse audiences. The large fan base of famous people is very likely to support the good cause that their idol endorses. In addition, celebrities can gather huge media coverage, and as a result, even people who are not their fans can be aware of the problem. Such attention-catching ability is very important to spread the message about international aid needed. Having evaluated both sides of the argument, my conclusion is that the charity organizations can harness the celebrities’ star power, at the same time combat the afore mentioned problem by choosing their spoke person wisely, so that the ambassador sincerely has the best interests of the troubled people or animals at heart, and not to divert public attention to himself.