Digital communication technology, such has email, instant messaging and social media, has improved communication and connections between people. with this opinion?

Advancements in technology have made it easier for people to communicate and interact with each other. However, I think, better communication does not always mean meaningful connections. In this essay, I will argue that while digital communication may be easy, it is not a substitute for face-to-face interactive communication and forming meaningful connections. As compared to the past, it is now easier, convenient and cheaper to communicate with people around the world. Technologies such as instant messaging, email and other social media services have changed our way of communicating with each other. A few decades ago, communicating with someone was a time-consuming, costly and an inefficient affair. Today, it is possible to contact a person residing anywhere in the world with just a single click. A recent technology, video-calling, where we can see the other person on a screen has improved the way we can talk with our loved ones. Although, technology has made it easier for people to communicate, it has not improved connections and relationships of people in an emotional manner. Digital communication will never be able to replicate face-to-face interaction between people, as it is not on an emotional level. Humans rely on physical touch, facial expressions and body language to understand and form a bond with each other. Connections are only possible through true face-to-face communication. Digital technology has undoubtedly improved communication, but not connections. Connections improve when people can express their feelings which cannot be expressed through messages. Although, the way we communicate has changed, our primal ways of connecting haven’t. We need physical face-to-face interactions to form meaningful, long-lasting connections with others, for which, our current technology is not a substitute.