Digital communication technology, such as email, instant messaging and social media, has improved communication and cinnections between people. with this opipnion.

Children are the future of any society. There has been a growing debate on who should teach children to good members of the society. Some believe they should be taught by their parents while others believe they should be taught in the school. This essay will discuss both views and why I believe the influence of both, the school and parents, are important in training a child to become model citizens. It is believed by some that a responsibility of parents should be to teach a child how to be a good member of the society. The early years of a child's life, when they begin to develop habits and are still malleable, are spent at home with their parents. The children may then easily be taught these good attributes. It is from home they develop a sense of bond and loyalty. Charity, they say, begins at home. If, for instance, a child is not taught how to be courteous by the parents from a young age, such a child would likely grow to become a rude individual whom many people may find disturbing and a menace. For this reason, the influence of the parents in teaching a child cannot be undervalued. Teaching a child to be a good member of the society is also argued by some people, to be done in the school. A large proportion of a child's time is spent in school and children get to interact with many others there. This makes it a good place to learn attributes that would make a good citizen. Recitation of the national anthem practised by schools in the US for example, has been shown by a research done in Harvard university to boost patriotism of the students by over 80%. This shows that a child should be taught to be a good member of the society even in schools. In conclusion, although some agree that teaching a child to be a responsible member of the society should be done by parents, others do not agree. They believe this should be taught in schools. Personally, I believe that both the school and parents have a role to play in teaching a child to be a responsible citizen, as different values are picked at both places. I however recommend that policies to foster more cooperation between the home and the school should be encouraged.